|Important note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution into the public domain. If you don't want this or can't do this because of license restrictions, please don't edit. This page is one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see Help:Contents for an overview of all pages. See Project:PD help/Copying for instructions.|
Deleting a page is a straightforward operation for anyone with sysop permissions. Users without such permissions can still remove text from wiki pages, or propose/request that a page should be deleted. See Help:Deleting a page.
Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on Help:Deleting a page (In particular, note that there are many situations where a deleting is too drastic. Often a redirect is more appropriate for example)
Before deleting you could perform various checks:
The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.
Sysops should see a 'delete' tab at the top of every page. Click this to delete the page. You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log (Special:Log).
To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log (Special:Log) if you dont remember it.
You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.
The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown.